A collection of my favourite recipes & remedies from Mexico and around the world.

Marvellous Mexican Meatballs in Caldillo de Tomate (Tomato Sauce)

>img src=http://"my-marvellous-mexican-meatballs-in-caldillo-de-tomate.jpg"?w=540&h=422 alt="my-marvellous-mexican-meatballs-in-caldillo-de-tomate served with white rice and steamed broccoli">

I was never a huge fan of meatballs to be honest but maybe that’s because I never ate homemade ones before this, it was something my Mum never made and I never thought of making. We would have tinned ones now and then and I remember there was a silly song we used to sing that never failed to amuse my sister and I, we used to sing the song quite often actually, not only when eating meatballs! For those who know and those who don’t, here are the lyrics to the Meatball Song aka On top of old Smokey:

‘On top of spaghetti/old smokey, all covered in cheese, I lost my poor meatball when somebody sneezed, it rolled off the table, and under a bush… and then my poor meatball was nothing but MUSH!

That last word should be sung/shouted as loud as possible! (Thanks to adoseofrnr.wordpress.com for the ‘Meatball Memory’)

When my husbands son came to stay for the summer hols he told us that albondigas, meatballs, was one of his favourite meals that his Grandmother cooks for him. In an effort to make him feel more at home and to gain his favour I decided I would attempt to make my very own meatballs, after all it can’t be that hard, they are pretty much just hamburgers before you flatten them drenched in tomato sauce.. but would they be as good as Grandmas? As he tucked into the steaming plate of I waited for the verdict with bated breath, he looked up from between mouthfuls nodding and licking tomato sauce off his chin, another great success! They went down very well, so well in fact that I made Marvellous Mexican Meatballs twice more that holiday.

Note: I made the caldillo child friendly, that is to say, without any chili, if you like it hot then you can add a couple of green chilies or chipotle chiles to the caldillo when blending – chipotles are my faves for this recipe and give it an even more Mexican flavour.

Ingredients and Method for Marvellous Mexican Meatballs:

For the meatballs:

Ingredients:

300g mince beef
300g minced pork
75g bread crumbs
1/2 medium onion, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 large egg, beaten
1 tsp paprika
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp black pepper
fresh parsley, finely chopped
salt to taste
oil for frying

Makes around 12-15 meatballs.

For the Caldillo de Tomate: CLICK HERE FOR RECIPE

Method:

In a large bowl combine the mince beef, bread crumbs, onion, garlic, egg, spices and parsley adding a generous dash of salt and mix thoroughly.

>img src=http://"combine-ingredients-in-a-bowl-1024x768.jpg"?w=540&h=405 alt="combine-ingredients-in-a-bowl">

Combine ingredients in a bowl

Roll into golf ball sized balls

Roll into golf ball sized balls

Roll into golf ball sized balls

Heat enough oil in a large frying pan to shallow fry the meatballs, about 1.5 cm should be enough.

Once hot carefully add the meatballs and fry over a medium heat turning frequently for about 15-25 minutes or until they are golden brown and cooked through.

Fry meatballs over meduim heat until golden brown

Fry meatballs over meduim heat until golden brown

Drain off excess oil while removing from the pan and lay onto a paper towel covered plate to absorb as much of the oil as possible. You may want to blot them off with extra kitchen towel if they are still too greasy. Leave to one side.

Now its time to make the Caldillo de Tomate or tomato sauce, make it in a large saucepan that will accommodate the meatballs as well as the sauce. Recipe for Caldillo de Tomate.

Once the caldillo has been fried and is ready, add the meatballs and cook for a further 10-15 mins or until piping hot.

Once caldo is ready add meatballs

Once caldo is ready add meatballs

Serve Marvellous Mexican Meatballs in a bowl or deep plate on a bed of white rice or pasta, smothered with lashings of Tomato Sauce (Caldillo de Tomate) and steamed broccoli or other veggies and enjoy!

>img src=http://"my-marvellous-mexican-meatballs-in-caldillo-de-tomate.jpg"?w=540&h=422 alt="my-marvellous-mexican-meatballs-in-caldillo-de-tomate served with white rice and steamed broccoli">

Marvellous Mexican Meatballs in Caldillo de Tomate with steamed rice and broccoli

Comments on: "My Marvellous Mexican Meatballs in Tomato Sauce" (10)

  1. […] I was rather disappointed about the lack of interest in what I thought was one of my better posts. My Marvellous Mexican Meatballs was ready to go on Monday but I had waited purposely for Tuesday to post it as I read in more than […]

  2. I think I’m in love with this recipe. I love meatballs. I love Mexican food. And here they are married! Thank you!

  3. The song is such a fond memory of mine. Thanks for the shout out, and providing the recipe for your meatballs. They look and sound yummy!

Please feel free to comment or share your suggestions and ideas :)

